Vitality Blast - 1 July 2021

Somerset won by 8 wickets

Venue: Bristol County Ground

Gloucestershire v Somerset

Lewis Gregory took career-best figures before Devon Conway brought Somerset home with an unbeaten 81 to beat Gloucestershire by eight wickets in the Vitality Blast at Bristol, a first T20 victory for Somerset at Bristol since 2015.

Gregory’s five for 24 helped Somerset hold their hosts to 161 for seven before Conway passed fifty for a third time in four innings to deliver a very comfortable victory, despite only getting home with four balls to spare.

Gloucestershire were left to rue a poor drop by wicketkeeeper James Bracey when Conway had only eight in the opening over. Conway also survived a mighty close lbw against Tom Smith on 35.
He managed the chase perfectly and delivered with his side missing both Tom Banton, to England, and James Hildreth, to injury.

Conway opened the chase with consecutive cover drives for four before lifting further boundaries over the off-side infield. He nailed a sweep for his ninth four and then reached fifty in 40 balls.
He shared productive stands first with Will Smeed, who top-edged a six and whacked a full-toss through midwicket in making 36 in 23 balls, and then Lewis Goldsworthy, who helped his side home with 39 not out in 27 balls.

They backed up a fine performance with the ball having won the toss. Gregory took five wickets in a T20 for the first time and a remarkable return considering he’d conceded 10-an-over in the competition before this game. But he took advantage of a little nibble in the wicket, particularly when seaming one away to take out Glenn Phillips’ off stump for only four. He also had Chris Dent and James Bracey caught top-edging pulls, Tom Smith held at short-third man and Benny Howell taken at long-off.

Howell played a rare anchor role in making 52 from 41 balls and Miles Hammond made a tournament-best 44 from 33. Howell manufactured an angle to cut Jack Brooks for four in the fourth over and then slugged a horrible drag-down by Max Waller over long-on in the seventh over. He swung Gregory for six in the penultimate over to raise fifty but miscued a hit to long-off next ball. It was the story of the innings.


Somerset won the toss and elected to bowl.

Christopher Dent | Miles Hammond | Benny Howell | Glenn Phillips | Jack Taylor | Ryan Higgins | James Bracey | Tom Smith | Daniel Worrall | Joshua Shaw | David Payne |

George Bartlett | Devon Conway | William Smeed | Lewis Goldsworthy | Lewis Gregory | Edward Byrom | Benjamin Green | Craig Overton | Marchant de Lange | Jack Brooks | Max Waller |

Somerset win by 8 wickets

Gloucestershire First Innings How out Runs Minutes Balls 4s 6s
Extras 1b 2lb 2nb 0p 3w 8
Total 161

Fall of wickets

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
23 79 92 94 134 150 151


Overs Maidens Runs Wickets
Craig Overton 2 0 21 0
Jack Brooks 3 0 25 1
Lewis Gregory 4 0 24 5
Max Waller 2 0 16 0
Lewis Goldsworthy 1 0 9 0
Ben Green 4 0 29 0

Somerset First Innings How out Runs Minutes Balls 4s 6s
Extras 0b 6lb 0nb 0p 3w 9
Total 165

Fall of wickets

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
8 86


Overs Maidens Runs Wickets
Daniel Worrall 4 0 29 0
David Payne 4 0 37 1
Josh Shaw 2 0 23 0
Benny Howell 4 0 27 0
Tom Smith 4 0 25 1
Ryan Higgins 1 0 18 0