Gloucestershire v Leicestershire

Michael Klinger leads from the front as Gloucestershire cruise to victory over Leicestershire to keep YB40 hopes alive

Yorkshire Bank 40 - 13 August 2013
Gloucestershire won by 7 wickets

Venue: Bristol

Gloucestershire turned up the heat on Group C leaders Somerset by beating Leicestershire in a one-sided Yorkshire Bank 40 contest in Bristol.

Put into bat on a slow pitch, Leicestershire were bowled out for a below-par 163 in 35.2 overs, Niall O’Brien top-scoring with 43.

In-form Michael Klinger then posted an assured 89 not out as Gloucestershire chased down a modest target with seven wickets and 9.4 overs in hand to leapfrog Glamorgan and Middlesex and move into second place,  level on points with Somerset but with a game in hand.

They next play Middlesex at Lord’s on Thursday and Glamorgan in Bristol on Sunday, and victory in both games will set up a potential winner-takes-all showdown with arch rivals Somerset at Nevil Road on Monday, August 26.

Skipper Klinger labelled this a “must-win” match and his young team responded in style, producing an intense performance in the field to seize an initiative they seldom looked like surrendering.

Leicestershire never recovered from the loss of early wickets as one batsman after another struggled to come to terms with conditions. Gloucestershire’s pace attack did most of the damage, James Fuller, David Payne and Craig Miles claiming two wickets apiece, while Benny Howell and Tom Smith also chipped in.

Josh Cobb and O’Brien staged a match-winning opening stand of 193 when these sides last met at Grace Road in May and Gloucestershire no doubt breathed a collective sigh of relief when the former departed in the fifth over, driving Fuller high to Payne at mid-on with the score on 14.

Greg Smith was held at the wicket off a top-edged skier to give Craig Miles his only success, Ned Eckersley drove Payne high to mid-off where Klinger took a fine catch and Matt Boyce succumbed to the same bowler, held by a tumbling Roderick behind the stumps in the act of cutting as the visitors slipped to 67-4 in the 17th over.

Realising steady accumulation was the order of the day, O’Brien advanced to 43 from 55 balls, only to be lured into front foot indiscretion by off spinner Tom Smith, who induced the Irishman to chip to mid-on when a half century appeared his for the taking.

With O’Brien went Leicestershire’s best chance of registering a competitive total. Shiv Thakor took the bait and hooked a bouncer from Fuller straight down the throat of Ian Cockbain at deep backward square, Michael Thornely was run out by Fuller’s startling direct hit from short third man and Anthony Ireland drove Benny Howell high to long-on as the Foxes further subsided to 120-8 in the 28th over.

Just when it seemed Leicestershire might go down with scarcely a whimper, Rob Taylor and James Sykes summoned much-needed -end tail-end resistance in a stand of 26 in 4.2 overs for the ninth wicket. But Sykes was run out by Howell’s throw from third man for 15 and Leicestershire’s misery was complete when Robbie Williams edged Miles to Roderick, leaving Taylor high and dry on 27 not out.

Aware of Somerset’s superior run rate, Gloucestershire’s batsmen were understandably in a hurry and Hamish Marshall came out with all guns blazing, smiting two fours and a six before falling to former team-mate Ireland, caught on the square leg boundary in pursuit of a second maximum.

Klinger has served as a crucial mainstay at the top of the order in this competition and the Australian came up with yet another innings of substance to render a sixth win in nine Group C contests a foregone conclusion.

Leicestershire’s fate was all but sealed by a stand of 76 in 16 overs for the second wicket between Klinger and Chris Dent, whose innings of 31 in 43 balls featured some excellent back foot play. Ian Cockbain came and went quickly, the victim of a bizarre run out, but veteran campaigner Alex Gidman saw the job through in partnership with his captain.

Fresh from scoring an unbeaten 131 in a losing cause against Somerset at Taunton 48 hours earlier, Klinger gave another chanceless master-class, accruing 2 sixes and 8 fours in a 96-ball innings that confirmed Gloucestershire’s superiority.


Gloucestershire won the toss and elected to bowl.

Michael Klinger | Hamish Marshall | Christopher Dent | Alex Gidman | Ian Cockbain | Benny Howell | Gareth Roderick | James Fuller | Tom Smith | David Payne | Craig Miles |

Joshua Cobb | Niall O'Brien | Greg Smith | Edmund Eckersley | Matthew Boyce | Shivsinh Thakor | Michael Thornely | Robert Taylor | Anthony Ireland | James Sykes | Robbie Williams |

163 all out
164 - 3
Gloucestershire win by 7 wickets


How out Runs Minutes Balls 4s 6s
Joshua Cobb Caught David Payne Bowled James Fuller 4 16 13 0 0
Niall O'Brien Caught James Fuller Bowled Tom Smith 43 84 55 5 0
Greg Smith Caught Gareth Roderick Bowled Craig Miles 6 15 14 1 0
Ned Eckersley Caught Michael Klinger Bowled David Payne 18 26 24 0 0
Matthew Boyce Caught Gareth Roderick Bowled David Payne 3 10 11 0 0
Shiv Thakor Caught Ian Cockbain Bowled James Fuller 10 25 18 0 0
Michael Thornely Run Out James Fuller 4 20 9 0 0
Rob Taylor Not Out 27 55 37 0 2
Anthony Ireland Caught James Fuller Bowled Benny Howell 7 13 9 0 1
James Sykes Run Out Benny Howell 15 23 14 2 0
Robbie Williams Caught Gareth Roderick Bowled Craig Miles 5 9 12 1 0
Extras 0b 2lb 8nb 0p 11w 21
Total 163

Fall of wickets

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
14 28 60 67 95 96 102 120 156 163


Overs Maidens Runs Wickets
James Fuller 7 0 18 2
Craig Miles 7 0 49 2
David Payne 6 0 28 2
Benny Howell 7 0 40 1
Tom Smith 8 0 26 1


How out Runs Minutes Balls 4s 6s
Michael Klinger Not Out 89 117 97 8 2
Hamish Marshall Caught Matthew Boyce Bowled Anthony Ireland 15 20 19 2 1
Chris Dent Caught Niall O'Brien Bowled Joshua Cobb 31 59 43 5 0
Ian Cockbain Run Out Robbie Williams 4 8 7 0 0
Alex Gidman Not Out 19 28 19 2 0
Benny Howell
Gareth Roderick
James Fuller
Tom Smith
David Payne
Craig Miles
Extras 0b 0lb 6nb 0p 0w 6
Total 164

Fall of wickets

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
25 101 109


Overs Maidens Runs Wickets
Anthony Ireland 8 1 43 1
Robbie Williams 6 0 33 0
Rob Taylor 6 0 26 0
James Sykes 3 0 20 0
Joshua Cobb 5 0 27 1
Shiv Thakor 2 0 15 0