Glos make it three in a row with 11 run T20 win over Sussex

Glos make it three in a row with 11 run T20 win over Sussex

NatWest T20 Blast - 26 June 2016
Glos won by 11 runs

Venue: Arundel

Gloucestershire gave their hopes of reaching the NatWest T20 Blast quarter finals a major boost with an 11 run victory over Sussex Sharks at Arundel.

Hamish Marshall scored 90 off just 55 balls as the visitors posted 184-4 before a career-best 3-29 from Matt Taylor restricted the home side to 173-9 in reply.

To watch a post-match interview with Matt Taylor click below:

The result was Glos’ third win on the bounce and puts them joint-top of the South Group with 11 points.

Earlier Michael Klinger’s men lost the toss and then lost their skipper off the 8th ball of the match, LBW to a ball that nipped back in sharply from Ajmal Shazad (3-26).

On a wicket where the ball didn’t seem to be coming onto the bat, it took Glos a few overs to get the measure of the pitch. But once they had, Hamish Marshall and Ian Cockbain made the Sharks pay.

In the last over of the power play a scoop over short fine leg and a crisp cover drive brought Marshall consecutive boundaries. A straight six from Cockbain ensured George Garton’s first over in T20 cricket when for 17, putting the visitors on to 45-1 after six.

The pair continued to run hard between the wickets and punish the bad ball as Marshall brought his 50 up off 31 balls in the 9th over – an over where he might have been caught and bowled by Will Beer but for a collision with Cockbain at the non-striker’s end.

The 100 partnership followed in the 13th over from 68 balls and at this stage Glos looked like they might be on course for 200.

Marshall slog swept Danny Briggs (1-42) for a  four and a huge six at the beginning of the 14th but Cockbain was then caught at short third man off a thick outside edge for a well-made 37 (33 balls).

At 124-2, the in-form Chris Dent came to the wicket but with improved discipline from the home attack, the boundaries began to dry up.

The return of Shazad brought the end of Marshall’s innings for 90 (55 balls, 8 fours, 2 sixes) – caught by Matt Machan at point.

Benny Howell underlined his clean-hitting credentials from the off, depositing Tymal Mills for two sixes in the 19th over to give Glos renewed impetus.

He was caught by Wright off Shazad off  the penultimate ball of the innings but not before another big six in an innings of 23 off just 8 balls.

Gareth Roderick struck the final ball – and his first – for four through fine leg as Glos finished on 184-4.

In reply Matt Taylor got the visitors off to a great start going for just one in the opening over – having bowled a maiden at Chris Gayle in the first over of his last match.

But a six by Chris Nash off Graeme Van Buuren followed by three fours for Luke Wright in Taylor’s second over put the home side onto 23-0 after three.

But left arm spinner Van Buuren – in for Liam Norwell – struck in his next over as Nash (13) top-edged a sweep to Andrew Tye at short fine-leg.

With Wright starting to look in ominous form the Sharks progressed to 65-1 before Phil Salt (12) was trapped LBW trying to reverse sweep Tom Smith (2-20).

This brought New Zealander Ross Taylor to the crease, a man who had already put Gloucestershire to the sword once this season with a match-winning 93 off 48 balls at Bristol in the return match.

With the increasingly-fluent Wright, he added 24 before falling LBW to Smith for 16, a decision that left him standing in apparent disbelief at the crease before walking off shaking his head.

Wright brought up his 50 from 37 balls in the 13th over – an over that included a powerful cover drive for four and a straight six off Benny Howell (1-31).

But just as the Sussex skipper looked to have taken control of the game, Howell hit back, having him caught at deep midwicket by Tye in the 15th over for 71 (47 balls, 8 fours 2 sixes).

This crucial wicket made it 122-4 and despite some big hitting from Matt Machan (31 off 18 balls) the Sharks continued to lose wickets at regular intervals.

Matt Taylor came back on to remove Ben Brown and Machan with wicked yorkers in the 17th over – the second of these dismissals sending two stumps cartwheeling out of the ground. He then had Shazad caught at long off by Cockbain in the 19th on his way to a career-best return.

Going into the final over Sussex required 21 to win with two wickets left in hand.

But it was business as usual for Andrew Tye (2-39) who held his nerve to help his side to a convincing 11 run victory.


Sussex won the toss and elected to bowl.

Chris Nash | Luke Wright | Philip Salt | Luteru Taylor | Matthew Machan | Ben Brown | Will Beer | Ajmal Shahzad | Danny Briggs | George Garton | Tymal Mills |

Hamish Marshall | Michael Klinger | Ian Cockbain | Christopher Dent | Benny Howell | Kieran Noema-Barnett | Gareth Roderick | Graeme van Buuren | Andrew Tye | Tom Smith | Matthew Taylor |

184 - 4
173 - 9
Gloucestershire win by 11 runs


How out Runs Minutes Balls 4s 6s
Hamish Marshall Caught Matt Machan Bowled Ajmal Shahzad 90 70 55 8 2
Michael Klinger L.B.W. Ajmal Shahzad 2 6 4 0 0
Ian Cockbain Caught Chris Nash Bowled Danny Briggs 37 47 33 0 2
Chris Dent Not Out 15 28 19 0 0
Benny Howell Caught Luke Wright Bowled Ajmal Shahzad 23 10 8 0 3
Gareth Roderick Not Out 4 1 1 1 0
Kieran Noema-Barnett
Graeme van Buuren
Andrew Tye
Tom Smith
Matt Taylor
Extras 0b 2lb 0nb 0p 11w 13
Total 184

Fall of wickets

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
4 124 152 180


Overs Maidens Runs Wickets
Danny Briggs 4 0 42 1
Ajmal Shahzad 4 0 26 3
Tymal Mills 4 0 42 0
George Garton 3 0 29 0
Will Beer 2 0 20 0
Chris Nash 3 0 23 0


How out Runs Minutes Balls 4s 6s
Chris Nash Caught Matt Taylor Bowled Graeme van Buuren 13 13 9 1 1
Luke Wright Caught Andrew Tye Bowled Benny Howell 71 57 47 8 2
Philip Salt L.B.W. Tom Smith 12 17 11 2 0
Ross Taylor L.B.W. Tom Smith 16 16 14 2 0
Matt Machan Bowled Matt Taylor 31 29 18 0 3
Ben Brown Bowled Matt Taylor 5 8 7 0 0
Will Beer Caught Chris Dent Bowled Andrew Tye 2 5 3 0 0
Ajmal Shahzad Caught Ian Cockbain Bowled Matt Taylor 0 6 1 0 0
Danny Briggs Caught Ian Cockbain Bowled Andrew Tye 11 6 6 2 0
George Garton Not Out 2 7 2 0 0
Tymal Mills Not Out 7 3 2 0 1
Extras 1b 0lb 0nb 0p 2w 3
Total 173

Fall of wickets

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
27 65 89 122 137 146 153 154 165


Overs Maidens Runs Wickets
Matt Taylor 4 0 29 3
Graeme van Buuren 2 0 23 1
Andrew Tye 4 0 39 2
Benny Howell 4 0 31 1
Kieran Noema-Barnett 3 0 30 0
Tom Smith 3 0 20 2