Glamorgan v Gloucestershire

NatWest T20 Blast - 3 August 2017
Gloucestershire beat Glamorgan by 5 runs (DLS)

Venue: Swalec Stadium, Cardiff

Sri Lankan bowler Thisara Perera made his most significant impact so far in Gloucestershire colours as they won in the Nat West T20 Blast for the third year in a row at the Swalec Stadium against Glamorgan.

With rain in the air, and Gloucestershire having made 150-9 in their 20 overs, the umpires discussed conditions after four overs of the Glamorgan reply. If they had gone off at that stage, the game would have been abandoned as a “no result”, but the one further over saw Glamorgan take their score to 32-1 with one ball remaining.

A dot ball at that stage with no more play would have meant a tie, but Perera yorked Glamorgan skipper Rudolph, thereby raising the DLS score after five overs to 37 and leaving Glamorgan on 32-2. The umpires took the players off, and despite several attempts to restart proceedings there was no more play, leaving Gloucestershire winners by 5 runs under DLS. The result lifts Gloucestershire to fourth in the South Group table.

Gloucestershire made two changes from the side selected for the match at Essex which was abandoned after the toss, Benny Howell and Tom Smith coming in for Gareth Roderick and Chris Liddle, and it was Gloucestershire who were asked to bat after Jacques Rudolph won the toss.

The start was solid enough from Klinger and Mustard, although the latter was dropped by Salter off Hogan at point in the second over. It was a hard chance, but as things turned out Gloucestershire were to be extremely grateful. Mustard played a shot similar to a golfer’s sand wedge to strike the first six of the match off van der Gugten in the third over, and the openers shared boundaries off Hogan, de Lange and Wagg in adding 45 together in the powerplay.

Unusually, the middle overs were split between only two Glamorgan bowlers, and it was Craig Meschede who was the stand breaker as Klinger (15) pulled a ball straight to Salter on the square leg boundary.

The off spinner was on at the media centre end and with Mustard profitably using the reverse sweep against him, Gloucestershire had reached 73-1 at half distance and the former Durham wicketkeeper brought up his first fifty in the tournament this season from 42 balls when he lofted Salter for his third six well over the long on boundary.

Ian Cockbain’s support meant Gloucestershire looked well placed for a total of around 180 only for both to depart in successive overs after adding 53 for the second wicket, Cockbain (22) being caught at long off and Mustard (57) at deep mid wicket, the leg spin of Ingram again having an impact as it had done in the reverse fixture.

It left Gloucestershire’s middle order to raise the tempo from scratch, and Jack Taylor and Kieran Noema-Barnett took the scoreboard to 129-3 with three overs left, two of which – destructively – were bowled by Michael Hogan. The Australian took five wickets at a personal cost of only seven runs as the innings spluttered to its conclusion at 150-9, well short of what looked a competitive score even on a pitch Phil Mustard described later as “sticky.”

Gloucestershire could ill afford a loose start to the Glamorgan reply so three successive boundaries by Aneurin Donald in Matt Taylor’s first over was hardly ideal. The difficulty in judging the pace of the pitch was soon illustrated however, as the same batsman fell to David Payne, Benny Howell taking the catch at short cover off a leading edge.

Umbrellas were in evidence when Thisara Perera was brought into the attack, and the key point then became the length of the Glamorgan innings. Rudolph’s boundary early in the fifth over put them level with the DLS score, but the single to exceed it never came and critically the South African’s defences were breached by Perera’s yorker off the last.

With the weather worsening, the decision to suspend play after Perera’s wicket had been critical and no further time in the middle left Gloucestershire, against the odds, heading back to the Brightside Ground with two points which keep alive their hopes of a quarter final place.


Glamorgan won the toss and elected to bowl.

Aneurin Donald | Jacobus Rudolph | Colin Ingram | David Miller | Christopher Cooke | Graham Wagg | Craig Meschede | Andrew Salter | Marchant de Lange | Timm van der Gugten | Michael Hogan |

Michael Klinger | Phil Mustard | Ian Cockbain | George Hankins | Benny Howell | Jack Taylor | Narangoda Perera | Kieran Noema-Barnett | Tom Smith | Matthew Taylor | David Payne |

Gloucestershire win by 5 runs (D/L Method)

How out Runs Minutes Balls 4s 6s
Michael Klinger Caught Andrew Salter Bowled Craig Meschede 15 27 16 2 0
Phil Mustard Caught Andrew Salter Bowled Colin Ingram 57 52 49 4 3
Ian Cockbain Caught Michael Hogan Bowled Craig Meschede 22 20 14 1 1
Jack Taylor Bowled Michael Hogan 10 21 14 0 0
Kieran Noema-Barnett Caught Aneurin Donald Bowled Michael Hogan 17 16 12 2 1
Thisara Perera Caught David Miller Bowled Michael Hogan 1 5 2 0 0
Benny Howell Caught Colin Ingram Bowled Michael Hogan 13 11 7 1 1
George Hankins Bowled Michael Hogan 3 5 4 0 0
Matt Taylor Run Out Chris Cooke 0 3 2 0 0
Tom Smith Not Out 0 2 1 0 0
David Payne
Extras 1b 4lb 2nb 0p 5w 12
Total 150

Fall of wickets

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
45 98 103 129 131 132 145 145 150


Overs Maidens Runs Wickets
Timm van der Gugten 2 0 13 0
Michael Hogan 4 0 17 5
Marchant de Lange 4 0 30 0
Graham Wagg 1 0 9 0
Craig Meschede 4 0 28 2
Andrew Salter 3 0 28 0

How out Runs Minutes Balls 4s 6s
Aneurin Donald Caught Benny Howell Bowled David Payne 15 8 9 3 0
Jacques Rudolph Bowled Thisara Perera 10 20 15 2 0
Colin Ingram Not Out 4 14 7 1 0
David Miller Not Out 0 1 0 0 0
Chris Cooke
Graham Wagg
Craig Meschede
Andrew Salter
Marchant de Lange
Timm van der Gugten
Michael Hogan
Extras 0b 0lb 2nb 0p 1w 3
Total 32

Fall of wickets

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
19 32


Overs Maidens Runs Wickets
Matt Taylor 1 0 14 0
David Payne 2 0 9 1
Thisara Perera 2 0 9 1